The Traditional Building Guide: Advice for Preserving Bermuda's Architectural Heritage. Anthony Short and Sylvia Shorto, with drawings by Anthony Short. The main floor of the house consists of double living rooms with fireplaces, formal dining room, large modern kitchen with breakfast area, three bedrooms, and an exquisite master suite (including dressing room and home office). Won the 2003 Bermuda In Bloom best Garden in the Parish Award. A classic and historic Bermudian home, original part of which was built in 1700, 5-10 minutes (depending on traffic) from the centre of the City of Hamilton, with wood floors, fireplaces, tray ceilings and old fashioned verandahs that overlook both the South Shore and Hamilton Harbour.
100 absolutely russian dating personals - Oasis active online dating
He was one of the main suppliers of essential ships chandlers and related services to Clyde-built and other British ships from Liverpool, England to Confederate ports via Bermuda during the 1860-64 blockade running heyday. Nestled into a large estate with access to the tranquil warm waters of the bay at Cambridge Beach, is this stunning 7 bedroom, 5 1/2 bathroom house.
Callan Glen The Mc Callans of Bermuda include an author who first came to local fame in the 1950s. They include a 1949-1955 Governor of Bermuda, Lieutenant General Sir Alexander Hood, after his Governorship, then Geraldine Rose Crockwell Crockwell-Sequeros in 1976, then Mr. Comfortably decorated and renovated with all the modern conveniences, the gracious old Bermuda home provides a wonderful venue for a family reunion, or a getaway for friends who want to enjoy a tropical setting with secret paths down to the beach, hammocks and quiet flower filled gardens.
Goodrich was appointed to the local Legislature, hence his Honorable title. Bridger Goodrich and his Family in America, Bermuda and Britain 1775-1825" by Nick Hartley.
Later, the house ownership passed from Bridger Goodrich to Edward Goodrich.
Across the threshold, circles of thick glass are embedded in the floor allowing light into the quarters below where slaves once lived. The house that stands today is a circa 1700 mansion, one of the earliest in the area, once near a bridge across a creek from the sea to a marsh.
Beyond the house are the old stables and a guest cottage. The original building which the present house replaced was a timber-frame house erected by planter and shoemaker Roger Bailey, whose father arrived in Bermuda before 1623.
On the second floor are four large bedrooms with soaring ceilings and a cozy office.
The master bedroom is significant in scale with an en suite bathroom, walk-in closet and doors leading out to another private 288 square foot covered patio with unparalleled water views to Dockyard.
The house today, after many subsequent owners and most recently the Bermuda National Trust (BNT), the present owner, has the Bridge House Apartment, an office and artist's studio.
Both the main house and rented apartment received sensitive but significant BNT upgrades in 2013-2014.
It was built as a residence on the upper floors with stores and shops on the ground floor. He brought with him recommendations from his relatives Lord Forbes, the Duchess of Gordon and his kinsman, Lord Gordon, Sir Arthur Forbes and Sir Duncan Forbes.